Aniara | Shaping the Future with Innovative Solutions

Aniara Lab Tech Award

2009 Lab Tech Award Winner

Aniara is happy to announce the winner of the 2009 Aniara Lab Tech Award in the amount of $1000.

Kelly Townsend
Ms. Marilyn Johnston, MLT, ACT

Congratulations to Ms. Marilyn Johnston 2009 Lab Tech Award Winner

On behalf of Aniara and the CHTAE Committee I am pleased to notify you that you have been awarded the 2009 Coagulation/Hemostasis Technologist Award for excellence.

You were nominated in three separate letters from your peers and were the clear choice of all the committee members. In fact, many of us would relish a chance to visit with you to "talk coag" (a language not everyone appreciates).

In addition to being recognized nationally and internationally for your contributions to the field of Hemostasis, the committee was most impressed with your work in mentoring others. To quote from a few of your well-respected protégées:

"Marilyn has acted as mentor for a number of technologists and research fellows and continues to share her knowledge and expertise in the area of hemostasis and thrombosis."

"Marilyn encouraged her team to take the extra time and use the technology needed to dissect complex cases. She would bring in new technology when needed, adapt old technology if applicable and make up new technology if none existed. Many of the technologists working for Marilyn were inspired to achieve advanced certification by her mentorship."

"Marilyn exemplified true entrepreneurial leadership in the creation and development of a unique hemostasis specialty testing laboratory for the purpose of aiding young medical researchers and laboratorians in the development of their career interestespecially in the area of anticoagulation testing which continues to enhance the knowledge and understanding of hemostasis. Her contributions to the education of technologists, medical students and residents in the area of hemostasis are significant as exemplified by the numerous journal publications, scientific reviews, book chapters and speaking engagements.

Of all the awards you have received, I'm sure that you will treasure this one as it truly comes from your peers and validates your mission as a hemostasis educator.

In addition to a stylish trophy, the award carries a prize of $1000 which I'm sure you will be able to find a use for!

Traditionally Aniara has presented the award at the December ASH meeting, but with ASH's growing focus on Heme/Onc (as well as the current economic climate), Aniara will not be exhibiting at ASH this year. It is my understanding that Jonas Kingo will be in touch with you to select a venue for the award to be made.

Please accept my thanks for your contributions to our field as well as making the award selection so easy.

Kelly Townsend, MT(ASCP)SH
Technical Specialist for Coagulation
TriCore Reference Laboratories
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Chair - CHTAE Award Committee


View Video



2009 - Marilyn Johnston


2008 - Kelly Townsend
2007 - Karen Moffat
2006 - Donna Castellone
2005 - George Fritsma


2009 CHTAE Election Committee

Kelly Townsend - Chairperson

Karen Moffat
Hamilton Regional Laboratory

Dave McGlasson
Lackland AFB, TX, USA

Suzanne Hoffman
University of Wisconsin

Sharniece Covill
Blood Center of Wisconsin

Ann Ingle
Emory in Atlanta

Pamela Owens

Donna Rospopot

This website contains information on products which is targeted to a wide range of audiences and could contain product details or information otherwise not accessible or valid in your country. Please be aware that we do not take any responsibility for accessing such information which may not comply with any legal process, regulation, registration or usage in the country of your origin.